Kempen Route
NL FR EN DE
Back to overview

Kempen Route

203 km - 763 meters

A change is as good as a rest, so they say. And we certainly have a lot of changes in store for you. The Kempen Route alternates forest and heathland and industrial heritage - hello, mine sites of Genk! — and all this while following an old coal railway.

And it becomes even more special, for on this cycle route, you ride metres above ground level, through the treetops. And you can also go through the water if you like: take a dip in the Kempen lakes or exchange your saddle for a place in a canoe to take you across the Kleine Nete. Unless, of course, you’ve already taken a dip in the Lilse Bergen or the swimming pond at De Hoge Rielen.

Even more spectacle? Well, here is the Sleeping Giant of Kasterlee, a crest on the dunes such as you would expect in the Sahara, not here. And you end at a beautiful sight (as if the rest of the trip hadn’t been a sumptuous feast for the eye) via a majestic castle avenue that takes you back into Antwerp, in the direction of Park Spoor Noord. Pheww!

Photos

Verkeersbord

Route des Campines
NL FR EN DE
Retour à l'aperçu

Route des Campines

203 km - 763 mètres

Une chose est sûre : l’itinéraire campinois vous en mettra plein la vue, tant ses paysages sont variés. Il alterne entre bois, bruyère et patrimoine industriel – admirez les sites miniers autour de Genk ! –, le tout le long d’un ancien tracé minier.

Et plus spécial encore : sur cet itinéraire, vous pédalez plusieurs mètres au-dessus du sol, dans les cimes des arbres. L’eau est aussi présente : que diriez-vous de vous baigner dans les Kempense Meren ou de délaisser un instant votre vélo pour faire un tour en canoë sur la Petite Nèthe ? À moins que vous n’ayez déjà fait un petit plouf au camping « De Lilse Bergen » ou dans l’étang de baignade du domaine « De Hoge Rielen », bien entendu.

Encore plus de spectacle ? Découvrez le Slapende Reus (« Géant Dormant ») de Kasterlee, un cordon dunaire digne du Sahara. Et pour terminer votre escapade en beauté (comme si le reste du parcours n’avait pas déjà été une fête pour les yeux !), une majestueuse drève de château vous ramène à Anvers, direction le parc Spoor Noord. Quelle aventure !

Images

Verkeersbord