Coastal route
NL FR EN DE
Back to overview

Coastal route

85 km - 311 meters

Are you looking for the perfect combination of nature, maritime history and culture? And can you stand up to a gust of wind? Do you long for the salty taste of the sea? The coastal route will satisfy your hunger for new horizons. Plan a two-day break for this one and decide on the direction you take when you know where the wind is blowing from. Ahoy there!

Follow the turbulent waves with the sun on your face. Tour along the beach with a view of the sea, cycle through dunes and woods and check out the sweeping, flat polder landscapes. The Zwin Nature Park in Knokke-Heist, the IJzermonding at Nieuwpoort and the Westhoek nature reserves in De Panne will receive you with open arms.

On the way you will learn something of the rich heritage of coastal life: from the Roman city of Oudenburg, to medieval Nieuwpoort, but also our coast with Belle Epoque nostalgia in De Haan and the typical post-war architecture of Ostend that was intended to accommodate the expected mass tourism. The coastal fishermen bring fresh fish and shrimp on land in the ports, and our North Sea chefs bring them to your plate.

Would you like a helping of art? That’s taken care of, thanks to the museums and galleries along the route, but also street art and the permanent Beaufort sculpture park. Still not enough for the true adventurer? Venture farther and cross to the Netherlands or France via the LF coastal route and la Vélomaritime.

Photos

Verkeersbord
Until September 30, it is not allowed to cycle on the seawall in Westende and Middelkerke between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. The signposting of the Coastal Route has been temporarily adjusted.

Route du littoral
NL FR EN DE
Retour à l'aperçu

Route du littoral

85 km - 311 mètres

À la recherche de la combinaison parfaite de nature, histoire maritime et culture ? Les rafales de vent ne vous font pas peur ? Vous aimez le goût salé de la mer ? L’itinéraire du littoral assouvira votre faim de nouveaux horizons. Planifiez une escapade de deux jours et laissez-vous porter par le vent. Ohé !

Suivez les vagues déchaînées pendant que le soleil vous réchauffe le visage. Flânez le long de la plage avec vue sur la mer, pédalez dans les dunes et les bois et explorez les vastes paysages plats des polders. Le Zwin Parc Nature à Knokke-Heist, l’estuaire de l’Yser à Nieuport et la réserve naturelle du Westhoek à La Panne vous accueillent à bras ouverts.

En chemin, vous découvrirez la riche histoire de la vie côtière : de la ville romaine d’Audembourg à Nieuport la médiévale, en passant par le Coq-sur-Mer et sa nostalgie Belle Époque et Ostende et son architecture d’après-guerre typique, témoin des débuts du tourisme de masse. Les pêcheurs côtiers débarquent crevettes et poissons frais dans les ports, et nos chefs de la mer du Nord les subliment dans votre assiette !

Amateur d’art ? Vous trouverez votre bonheur dans les musées et galeries qui parsèment l’itinéraire, mais aussi dans le street art et le parc de sculptures permanent Beaufort. Aventurier dans l’âme ? Tentez la traversée vers les Pays-Bas ou la France via la « LF Kustroute » (itinéraire côtier de longue distance) ou la Vélomaritime.

Images

Verkeersbord
Jusqu'au 30 septembre, il est interdit de circuler à vélo sur la digue à Westende et Middelkerke entre 6h et 22h. La signalisation de la Route du Littoral a été temporairement adaptée.